Close this search box.

Company Profile

Our Mission

To enhance the quality of life of our members and support the communities we serve, by cooperatively providing reasonably priced energy with exceptional service.

Company Profile

Founded in 1938 as a not-for-profit electric cooperative, Corn Belt Energy now powers the lives of over 36,000 homes and businesses throughout 18 counties in Central Illinois. We employ 81 people and maintain over 5,000 miles of line throughout our vast territory. Our electricity is supplied by Wabash Valley Power Alliance, a generation and transmission cooperative based in Indianapolis.

The largest electric cooperative in Illinois, Corn Belt Energy is owned by the electric members it serves and is committed to providing reliable, affordable power. The cooperative is governed by 11 directors who are residential members and who represent specific districts within our service territory. Educating members on energy efficiency and safety are top priorities and we are committed to supporting our communities in a variety of ways, including our Education Grants Program and our participation in the national Youth to Washington Tour.

In the past 84 years, our membership base has changed dramatically from primarily farmers to an ever-increasing number of urban, suburban and commercial accounts. Embracing our rural farm heritage, we now serve many of the new residential subdivisions and commercial areas in Bloomington-Normal and other communities. While we’ve accomplished our original goal of bringing electricity to rural areas, we’re now faced with a new challenge: helping cooperative members use energy wisely in a world increasingly reliant on electricity.

Corn Belt Energy is a member of the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives (AIEC) and the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA). Corn Belt Energy has been a member of the Touchstone Energy network of electric co-ops since its inception in 1998.

Service Territory

Corn Belt serves cooperative members throughout 18 Central Illinois counties: Bureau, Champaign, De Witt, Ford, Henry, Kendall, Knox, La Salle, Livingston, Logan, Macon, Marshall, McLean, Piatt, Putnam, Stark, Tazewell, and Woodford

View service territory map

Energy Sources

One of the ways we balance reliability and affordability is through a diversified power portfolio. Our power supplier, Wabash Valley Power Alliance, purchases some electricity from other utilities while generating the rest themselves.